First, let’s give a definition for Post Market Surveillance. Post Market Surveillance is the collection of observational data after, in this case, a medical device has been approved to be sold on the market. This is a phase where the medical device is observed when used amongst individuals in the general public.

In the EU, the Medical Device Regulation (MDR) requires Post Market Surveillance on all devices, but the degree varies based on risk and device type. The MDR also requires a well written post market surveillance plan on all devices.

In the US, Post Market Surveillance is mandated in most cases by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for certain class II or class III medical devices. A medical device development requires five phases and the fifth phase is called Post-Market Device Safety Monitoring.

Why is Post Market Surveillance important in the field of medicine?

Post market surveillance is extremely important because the device has been studied only in controlled environments. Patients who received the medical device during the clinical study usually fit strict inclusion criteria in the beginning phases, such as: being male, having no chronic health issues or having very specific indications. As the phases progress, the participating population pool grows. But it does not include the general public until post market approval or the post market “phase”. After approval and with the device available to the general population, physicians, healthcare workers, and patients who use this market approved device are able to report if any unseen complications or possibly life-threatening issues arise. Manufacturers are obligated to collect this data because in some cases, approved devices need to be pulled from the market after authorization due to safety concerns. Clinical studies before approval alone simply cannot predict the effect of a medical device on every individual medical device user.

Therefore, it is important to continue to incorporate the benefits of in silico and in silico clinical trials to a greater extent in the future. This makes it possible to cover a larger population from the beginning with less effort and to further increase the safety of medical devices.

How is Post Market Surveillance implemented by Simq?

Our medical simulation software solutions all generate digital evidence that is documented in a simulation report. This objective data generated with simulation adds another much needed facet to ensure the safety of the medical device and reduces the liability of the medical device manufacturer throughout the Post Market Surveillance period.

Why is Simq’s Post Market Surveillance particularly good and what added value does it create?

Simulation technology continues to advance and become an integral part of clinical studies. Simq also follows recommended Good Simulation Practices (GSP) which is on track to become a good practice quality guideline in the near future, and follows draft guidance from the FDA. When these simulation practices are enforced, we are ready, and therefore, our clients are ready.As mentioned above, Simq software provides a report automatically at the end of simulation, therefore eliminating the need to generate reports manually. We are in V&V40 working groups and always keep the reports up to date. Customized FDA compliant reports are also an available feature in our software solutions. These reports are ready for audits or inspections both internal and external.

What else should I know about Post Market Surveillance?

There are nuances between the FDA and MDR when it comes to Post Market Surveillance (PMS) and Post Market Clinical Follow-up (PMCF). For the MDR, PMS and PMCF are differentiated. PMS collects many types of data and PMCF collects clinical data to update the clinical evaluation. PMCF is treated by the MDR as a subset of PMS. If the PMS doesn’t present enough data or implies that changes need to be made to the clinical evaluation, PMCF may be required by the manufacturer.

The FDA requires the Post Market Surveillance to include Post Market Clinical Follow-up data, so these two terms (PMA and PMCF) are not differentiated.

Conclusion:

Medical device manufacturers are increasingly being held more responsible for the outcome of their medical device designs. This can seem like a large task when a device is subjected to purely clinical observations and regulations from MDR and the FDA. Manufacturers need an objective way to prove the efficacy and quality of their product. Simq simulation software provides objective data for performance and safety evaluation on a scientific-biomechanical basis. This, together with clinical data, provides a robust evaluation of post market medical devices. This is the future, this is Simq simulation.

Lassen Sie uns zunächst eine Definition für Post Market Surveillance geben. Post Market Surveillance ist die Sammlung von Beobachtungsdaten, nachdem ein Medizinprodukt für den Verkauf auf dem Markt zugelassen wurde. Dabei handelt es sich um eine Phase, in der das Medizinprodukt bei der Verwendung durch Einzelpersonen in der Öffentlichkeit beobachtet wird.

In der EU schreibt die Verordnung über Medizinprodukte (MDR) eine Überwachung nach dem Inverkehrbringen für alle Produkte vor, wobei das Ausmaß je nach Risiko und Produkttyp variiert. Die MDR verlangt auch einen gut geschriebenen Plan zur Überwachung nach dem Inverkehrbringen für alle Produkte.

In den USA wird die Post Market Surveillance von der Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in den meisten Fällen für bestimmte Medizinprodukte der Klassen II und III vorgeschrieben. Die Entwicklung eines Medizinprodukts besteht aus fünf Phasen. Die fünfte Phase wird als Post-Market Device Safety Monitoring bezeichnet.

Warum ist die Überwachung nach dem Inverkehrbringen im Bereich der Medizin wichtig?

Die Überwachung nach dem Inverkehrbringen ist äußerst wichtig, weil das Produkt zwar untersucht wurde, aber nur in einer kontrollierten Umgebung. Die Patienten, die das Medizinprodukt während der klinischen Studie erhalten haben, erfüllen in der Regel in der Anfangsphase strenge Einschlusskriterien, z. B. dass sie männlich sind, keine chronischen Gesundheitsprobleme haben oder ganz bestimmte Indikationen aufweisen. Mit dem Fortschreiten der Phasen vergrößert sich der Kreis der teilnehmenden Personen, aber erst nach der Marktzulassung, oder in der “Post-Marketing-Phase“, wird die breite Öffentlichkeit einbezogen. Nach der Zulassung und wenn das Gerät der Allgemeinheit zur Verfügung steht, können Ärzte, Mitarbeiter des Gesundheitswesens und Patienten, die das zugelassene Gerät verwenden, berichten, wenn unbemerkte Komplikationen oder möglicherweise lebensbedrohliche Probleme auftreten. Die Hersteller sind verpflichtet, diese Daten zu sammeln, denn in einigen Fällen müssen zugelassene Produkte nach der Zulassung aufgrund von Sicherheitsbedenken vom Markt genommen werden. Klinische Studien vor der Zulassung allein können nicht vorhersagen, wie sich ein Medizinprodukt auf jeden einzelnen Anwender auswirkt.

Daher ist es wichtig, die Vorteile von in silico und in-silico-klinischen Studien in Zukunft noch stärker einzubeziehen. Damit ist es möglich, mit weniger Aufwand von Anfang an eine größere Population zu erfassen und die Sicherheit von Medizinprodukten weiter zu erhöhen.

Wie wird Post Market Surveillance von Simq umgesetzt?

Unsere Softwarelösungen für die medizinische Simulation generieren alle digitalen Beweise, die in einem Simulationsbericht dokumentiert werden. Diese objektiven Daten, die mit der Simulation generiert werden, stellen eine weitere, dringend benötigte Facette dar, um die Sicherheit des Medizinprodukts zu gewährleisten und die Haftung des Medizinprodukteherstellers während des gesamten Zeitraums der Marktüberwachung zu reduzieren.

Warum ist die Post Market Surveillance von Simq besonders gut und welchen Mehrwert schafft sie?

Die Simulationstechnologie entwickelt sich weiter und wird zu einem festen Bestandteil klinischer Studien. Simq hält sich auch an die empfohlenen Good Simulation Practices (GSP), die in naher Zukunft zu einer Qualitätsrichtlinie für bewährte Verfahren werden sollen, und folgt dem Entwurf der FDA. Wenn diese Simulationspraktiken durchgesetzt werden, sind wir bereit und damit sind es auch unsere Kunden.

Wie bereits erwähnt, erstellt die Software von Simq am Ende der Simulation automatisch einen Bericht, so dass die manuelle Erstellung von Berichten überflüssig wird. Wir sind in V&V40-Arbeitsgruppen vertreten und halten die Berichte stets auf dem neuesten Stand. Kundenspezifische, FDA-konforme Berichte sind ebenfalls in unseren Softwarelösungen möglich. Diese Berichte sind sowohl für interne als auch für externe Audits oder Inspektionen geeignet.

Was sollte ich sonst noch über Post Market Surveillance wissen?

Bei der Post Market Surveillance (PMS) und dem Post Market Clinical Follow-up (PMCF) gibt es Unterschiede zwischen der FDA und der MDR. Bei der MDR wird zwischen PMS und PMCF unterschieden. PMS sammelt viele Arten von Daten und PMCF sammelt klinische Daten zur Aktualisierung der klinischen Bewertung. PMCF wird vom MDR als eine Teilmenge von PMS behandelt. Wenn die PMS nicht genügend Daten enthält oder Änderungen an der klinischen Bewertung erforderlich sind, kann der Hersteller die PMCF verlangen.

Die FDA verlangt, dass die Post Market Surveillance auch Daten zur klinischen Nachbeobachtung nach dem Inverkehrbringen umfasst, so dass diese beiden Begriffe (PMA und PMCF) nicht unterschieden werden.

Zusammenfassung

Die Hersteller von Medizinprodukten werden zunehmend für die Ergebnisse ihrer Medizinprodukte verantwortlich gemacht. Dies kann eine große Aufgabe sein, wenn ein Medizinprodukt rein klinischen Beobachtungen und den Vorschriften der MDR und der FDA unterworfen ist. Die Hersteller benötigen eine objektive Methode, um die Wirksamkeit und Qualität ihres Produkts nachzuweisen. Die Simq Simulationssoftware-Lösungen liefern objektive Daten für die Leistungs- und Sicherheitsbewertung auf wissenschaftlicher, biomechanischer Grundlage. Zusammen mit klinischen Daten ermöglicht dies eine solide Bewertung von in Verkehr gebrachten Medizinprodukten. Das ist die Zukunft, das sind die Softwarelösungen von Simq.